Virginia requires all individual locksmiths to be registered and licensed with the state in order to conduct business.  Regulation is governed by the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services.

According to Virginia law, individual locksmiths must be registered with the state in order to conduct business.  In addition to individuals, locksmith ‘businesses’ must be licensed, and compliance officers must be certified.

  • Eligibility requirements:
  • Be a minimum of 18 years old
  • Successfully complete the minimum 18 hour training requirements for each registration category
  • Be a U.S. citizen or legal resident alien
  • Pass the criminal history background check

 

Registration for individuals with no prior locksmith experience includes:

A list of schools offering locksmith training is listed here

You do not have to be registered before you can work.  You are allowed as a locksmith for up to 90 consecutive days before completing the minimum training requirements, as long as you submit your fingerprints on or before your date of hire and you are working for a private security services company that is licensed by the department to provide locksmith services.

 

If you will also own the business and be the only employee, you will need to acquire a locksmith business license and become a compliance officer in addition to your registration.

The business license requirements for in state residents include:

  • Completing the initial business license application (PSS_LA)
  • Providing documentation verifying ownership of a $100,000 surety bond executed by a surety company authorized to perform such services in the state
  • Providing a certificate of insurance reflecting the department as a certificate holder.  Your comprehensive general liability insurance policy must contain a minimum of $100,000 and $300,000 and be issued by an insurance company authorized to conduct business in the state
  • Providing an ID number issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission
  • Providing a physical address
  • Designating an individual as the compliance officer
  • Designating the type of license you are applying for

Note that in order to qualify as a compliance agent you must have previous experience in this or a related field.  More information regarding this requirement is found here

 

Costs to register:

Initial registration application: $25

Fingerprint application and card: $50

Photo ID: $15

Training education: Varies

Total Cost (excluding training): $90

For further inquiries contact:

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services

100 Bank Street

Richmond, Virginia 23219

Phone: (804) 786-4000